A Day in the Life of an International Student

Name Lina (Huei Yu) Wang – Age 14
Start term/year @ CCC Term 4, Year 7, 2016
Home Country Taipei, Taiwan

How would your close friends describe you?
Crazy, talkative, and kind.
What do you think your best quality is?
I am very friendly.

What does your morning routine look like?
I usually wake up around 6:30am. I leave at about 7:30am and walk to school, usually watching funny videos online to wake me up.

What sort of food do you cook/eat on a daily basis?
Usually rice and noodles, but I eat basically anything!

What are the three things you absolutely need each day for school?
I absolutely need my pencil case, my reading glasses, and my phone.

What subjects do you take? What are your favourite and least favourite subjects?
Business, Maths, Science, HPE, English and Humanities My favourite subject is Maths, because I’ve already learnt ahead in Taiwan. My least subject is HPE – I enjoy the theory, but not the sports!

What are your long-term goals?
Well, I want to continue living and studying in Australia, because the lifestyle is more relaxed. I would ideally like to complete the International Baccalaureate at the College in my senior years. I would like to attend university, and study psychology because I am interested in how the mind works. In five years’ time, I’d like to travel and hopefully work as a barista while studying. In ten years’ time, I see myself working as a psychologist.

What do you enjoy most about the College?
I love how kind my classmates are, and how relaxed yet enjoyable my school life is.

What have been some interesting activities or events that you’ve been a part of at CCC?
Well I’ve competing in two really fun and interesting competitions for badminton and Chinese writing. They were both good experiences to have with my friends.

What hobbies and interests do you have?
I love to listen to music most afternoons. I also play badminton every Friday afterschool, which is great exercise. On the weekends, I like to visit Sunnybank, a nearby suburb that has a wide variety of multicultural restaurants.

What are some of differences you’ve noticed between Australia and Taiwan?
Generally, the life in Australia is slower – this is nice and relaxing, but sometimes frustrating, especially when shopping centres close early!

What is one thing that you have/use in Australia that you now cannot live without?
I can’t live without my laptop – I use it in almost every class and for every assignment. I also write down a lot of notes in my notebook here in Australia.

Did you find it difficult to adapt to life/study in Australia? How did you overcome these challenges?
The main challenge was language – I really studied a lot and practiced with my teachers and friends.

How did you or your parents choose Calamvale?
My mother and I came to Brisbane on a holiday from Taiwan, and she really liked it here. She wanted me to study here, so we contacted an agent to help us with that.